Posts tagged Wheat Allergy
Once upon a Wednesday | Wheat Patrol

First off, let me explain, I’m not coeliac. I don’t have an issue with gluten. But I am allergic to wheat.

Coeliac disease is an intolerance to gluten, a protein found in wheat, rye and barley, which leads to damage in the small intestine. Those who are gluten intolerant are also wheat intolerant.

However, wheat intolerance or allergy sufferers who don’t have a reaction to gluten are therefore able to eat grain substitutes like barley and rye without experiencing any side effects.

So while they are closely related, can you see that the two are different?

Read More